top of page
  • Writer's picturehdemaio

Anatomy of an Octavian Casebook

Updated: Jul 17, 2022

All 18 of the Casebooks of Octavius Bear share a common structure. In addition to the stories themselves, there are several other distinctive features. A descriptive list of the players to help your memory along. Pictures of many of the characters. A list of all the prior casebooks in order of their publication. For poetry lovers, each chapter begins with a limerick which you may or may not appreciate. Since these tales (tails?) involve an alternate animal-dominant Earth with no Homo Sapiens, I have included 5 or 6 sections in each volume called The Development of Civilization. These very short mini-tutorials provide background to the Octavian world and other universes: science, technology, society, economy, business, politics, history, beliefs and scores of other issues, many of which sound like our own 21st century conditions. Just trying to be helpful. Your comments and reactions are most welcome. Please visit one of the 4 booksellers who carry these gems and bring home a Bear or a Ghost. Thanks!

26 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Random Thoughts on Writing a Fictional Series

There are libraries filled with educational commentary and “how to” prescriptions for writing fiction. Many of these ‘works’ are produced by highly successful authors and present profound thinking on

She's back in Book Three

Sherlock Holmes Magazine - Issue 13 The third in the lighthearted series that pairs Holmes with the ghost of Lady Juliet Armstrong. This time, the unlikely duo are on the move across Europe, via The O

The Bear Faced Liar is Here!

Volume 18 of the Octavius Casebooks is out and available on Amazon and MX Publishing. The Octavians are cruising the Caribbean in an ecological super ship looking for rest and relaxation. No such luck

1 Comment

Jul 09, 2022

Great book! Such a fun read :-)

bottom of page